Gina Barre profile photo

Gina Barre

Study Skills Tutor (SpLD)

I have worked in education since 1996, beginning my career as a primary school teacher, followed by 19 years as a Specialist Teacher of the Visually Impaired (QTVI) working with families and young people with a visual impairment in a variety of settings. My journey into specialist study skills support began following my late diagnosis of dyspraxia and dyslexia at the age of 45, after recognising similar traits to my son and daughter. The outstanding support I received from a specialist tutor both for work and study motivated me to share this information with students in higher education.

I have an MA in Specific Learning Difficulties with a Specialism in dyslexia. I also worked as a specialist dyslexia assessor, which gave me the opportunity to follow the journey of students from diagnosis to allocation of support. I have a wide experience of supporting students with Dyspraxia, ADHD and ASC. My MA research focused on exploring the emotional implications of dyslexia for students in HE. My research revealed how significantly the emotional side of living with dyslexia impacted on the ability to study. My learning from the research encouraged me to work with the strengths of students and be mindful of the fragile nature of the self, introducing any new techniques as a partnership with the student.

Although learning is a challenge for me as I am neurodiverse, I do love learning! My MA experiences revealed that I would like to combine my specialist study skills with emotional support, therefore I began a counselling journey in 2019, I am due to complete my Level 4 Diploma in Therapeutic Counselling in July 2022. I am creative, which means I often bring alternative ways of working into my sessions with students, empowering students to discover ways to be their authentic selves. In my spare time I am a musician, playing folk fiddle in various local sessions and small groups and classical violin with an orchestra. I love travelling in my camper van with my husband, going to folk festivals, yoga, spending time with my adult children and working on my allotment.