Wendy Allonby Profile

Wendy Allonby

Specialist Mentor (MH)

Hello, I’m Wendy; I’m very excited to come on board with Diversity and Ability as a Specialist Mentor and am passionate about Well-being and being alongside you as you settle into and progress through University Life. Ability (En abling) is what I focus on as an Occupational Therapist. Diversity is part of my own personal journey especially as a parent – a significant driver for this role, ‘first-hand’ experience has proved to be really helpful when working with young people in my Mental Health NHS role. Keen to learn more !
About YOU: Firstly, I want to get to know you, what led you to choose your field of study? What are your hopes and dreams? What you’re passionate about, what else is important in your life? I’ll be looking to you for tips as you know YOU best, what works or not for you? I’ll be there alongside listening to your perspective, helping you fine tune your goals, weigh up potential solutions and uncover resources, trialling new techniques, technology, communication skills, helping you optimise your learning environment and putting your plans into action.

About ME: I don’t believe in a ‘one size fits all’ approach, we are ALL unique with our own histories, beliefs, values, preferences, identity and footprint. I’ve trained in Cognitive Behavioural Therapy and a range of psychological approaches and worked in a wide range of settings for over 35 years, including running my own business part time. My clients comment most about my non-judgemental approach, calming influence, authenticity, warmth, respect and compassionate stance and how this has helped them trust me, recover, realise strengths, grow their own self-awareness and shape a meaningful, fulfilling and healthier life – this comes from training as a Counsellor and as Personal Performance Coach alongside being an O.T (and my own ‘lived in’ experiences with health challenges). I feel privileged to work alongside clients and love it when they feel well enough to take their own lead and ownership of their results through their curiosity, hard work and commitment

Outside of work, I love spending time with my 4 children, snuggling up with our two border terrier dogs, nurturing mini-lop bunnies, walking, deer watching/trees & nature, gardening, photography, creative arts and dance, discovering new music artists, and d.i.y./design. My husband prefers to do the cooking (that’s fine by me !) …As you can see, I’m a chatterbox, I love meeting new people.